Newsletter Etiquette in 2024

Dos and don’t for readers and writers of newsletters

Karen Cherry
6 min readFeb 22, 2024
Image: Freepik

Have you jumped headfirst into newsletter creation?

Or are you fast becoming an avid newsletter reader?

Either way, you might be wondering about the unspoken rules of newsletter reading and writing in 2024. It’s something I’m getting asked about often.

In this post, I address the top questions I’ve been asked about newsletter etiquette in 2024.

Newsletter writers want to know…

  • How often should I send out newsletters to my subscribers without overwhelming them?
  • Is it rude not to subscribe back to writers who subscribe to my newsletter?
  • Am I supposed to respond to every comment, or answer reader questions in the comments?
  • When a reader or potential collaborator emails me, what’s an acceptable timeframe for answering?

Readers want to know:

  • How can I politely unsubscribe from a newsletter without causing offence to the sender?
  • Is it appropriate to reply to a newsletter email with questions or comments, and if so, what’s the best way to do it?
  • What should I do if I notice…

--

--

Karen Cherry

Substack writer. Secret tree hugger. Aussie business owner with >$19K revenue on Substack. Refusing to dumb it down.